Skip to content Skip to navigation


All of our classes in the lower part of the school are always full with an occasional place becoming available higher up the school where a child has moved away or transitioned to another school, usually in the private sector.

In more detail...

Our Admissions Policy

Our school has 210 places; that is 7 classes of 30 children aged between 4 and 11 years.  Our application process for our Reception is handled by Kent County Council (KCC) and our admissions policy is administered by KCC and follows these criteria:

1   Children in Local Authority Care

2   A brother or sister in the same school at the time of entry where the family continue to live at the same address as when the sibling was admitted or,

     if they have moved, live within 2 miles of the school, or have moved to a new property that is nearer to the school than the previous property

3   Health reasons or special access reasons

4   Nearness of children’s homes

Click here to read our current policy.

If you move into the area and would like your child to join our school, please contact the school directly for a tour of the school. Click here to download an In Year Application form.

Please click here to find out more information about Admissions to Kent Schools.

Our Classes and “Key Stages”

Children start our school aged between 4 and 5 years old in a Class called Reception.  The Reception class follows the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) which is a continuation of any learning and development attained through attending pre-school or nursery.  Much of the time in Reception is allocated to Child Initiated Activities with some time set aside on the timetable for Teacher Led Activities.

Class 1 and Class 2 form Key Stage 1 (KS1), historically called “Infants” and Classes 3 to 6 inclusive form Key Stage 2 (KS2) historically called “Juniors”. The table below shows the classes and the woodland bird that we have chosen to name each class, the children’s ages and key stages. 


Class 1

Class 2

Class 3

Class 4

Class 5

Class 6

Barn Owls







4-5 years

5-6 years

6-7 years

7-8 years

8-9 years

9-10 years

10-11 years


Key Stage 1

Key Stage 2

Key Stage 1 and 2 follow the National Curriculum.